2019 CFAES Annual Research Conference

May. 6, 2019

On Monday, April 22, we celebrated the breadth and talent of our researchers at the CFAES Annual Research Conference and Poster Competition. Gary Pierzynski, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education provided an update of activities of the CFAES Research Advisory Committee, closure to the National Council of University Research Administrators Review of 2016, and a look to the future for CFAES research. We also celebrated many faculty and staff achievements. See the award winners below.

We are now collecting feedback Whether you attended the conference this year or not, we ask that you complete this short survey (about 5 minutes) so that we can improve the conference in the future.

Feedback survey - open until May 17
View CFAES Research Updates presentation slides
View CFAES Research Updates recorded presentation

Award Winners

2018 CFAES Staff Advisory Council Awards
Innovation Award - Ivory Harlow
Key Values Award - Jami Dellifield
Special Recognition Award - Chrissy Kaminski
Shirley Brooks-Jones Award - Bill Smiley

William E. Krauss Award for Excellence in Graduate Research
Emile Gluck Thaler, Advised by Jason Slot

CFAES Distinguished Junior Faculty Research Award
Dr. Mary M. Gardiner

CFAES Distinguished Senior Faculty Research Award
Dr. Chang-Won "Charles" Lee

CFAES Innovator of the Year Award
Dr. Katrina Cornish

CFAES Multi-disciplinary Team Research Award
Dr. Elena Irwin, Dr. Jay Martin, and Dr. Robyn Wilson

Poster Winners

1. Gretchen Anchor, SENR  (Advisor Stan Gehrt)
2. Sarah Scott, Entomology (Advisor Mary Gardiner)
3. Matthew Willman, Hort & Crop Science (Advisor Jonathan Fresnedo Ramirez)

1. Yiyun Lin, Hort & Crop Science (Advisor Michelle Jones)
2. Katie D’Amico, Hort & Crop Science (Advisor Jonathan Fresnedo Ramirez)
3. Yuehan Ai, Food Science & Tech (Advisor Jiyoung Lee)

Post Docs
1. Juliana Vasco-Correa, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
2.  Hardy Castada, Food Science & Tech
3. Vishal Srivastava, Food Animal Health Research Program

Research Staff
1. Alyssa Zearley, SENR
2. Christopher Okonkwo, Animal Sciences
3. Patricia Boley, Food Animal Health Research Program